The Lance’s Guide to Astrology

Astrology for Dummies


Olivia Klein

Are you interested in checking your compatibility with others, impressing your crush, or becoming more in tune with your spirituality? If any of those apply to you, you should consider checking out astrology.

Over the course of the pandemic, many students have struggled to find ways to make use of their extra time. Whether through movies, board games, technology, or siblings: everyone has been attempting to find ways in which they enjoy wasting their free hours of the day. Astrology has sparked the interest of many students at NVOT throughout the pandemic, and might be a good option for a new pastime.

Junior Gianna Benasillo is a firm believer in the accuracy of astrology. She stated, “I like astrology because it’s a way for me to further understand why people act the way they do, and also to learn more about myself.”

Wait… but what exactly is astrology? The study of astrology focuses on the cycles, positions, and patterns of the planets and the influence it has on a person’s overall character. Although it isn’t proven to be accurate, a lot of people find joy and comfort in analyzing how it might affect themselves as well as those around them.


Let’s start with the basics: birth signs. Your birth sign is determined by your birthday and is your first step to diving into the world of astrology.

Birth signs
Aries, the ram: March 21st-April 19th
Taurus, the bull: April 20th-May 20th
Gemini, the twins: May 21st-June 20th
Cancer, the crab: June 21st-July 22
Leo, the lion: July 23rd-August 22nd
Virgo, the virgin: August 23rd-September 22nd
Libra, the scales: September 23rd-October 22nd
Scorpio, the scorpion: October 23rd-November 21st
Sagittarius, the archer: November 22nd-December 21st
Capricorn, the goat: December 22nd-January 19th
Aquarius, the water bearer: January 20th-February 18th
Pisces, the fishes: February 19th-March 20th

Olivia Klein


In astrology, it is believed that people are made up of the four basic elements: fire, earth, air, and water signs. The birth signs are divided into four groups based on these elements, each having very distinct qualities and traits that balance the others out.

Fire Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius. Fire signs represent the “soul” and are known to be:

  • Passionate
  • Temperamental
  • Interesting
  • Enthusiastic

Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn. Earth signs represent the “body” and are known to be:

  • Dependable
  • Loyal
  • Materialistic
  • Grounded

Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces. Water signs represent “emotion” and are known to be:

  • Charming
  • Mysterious
  • Sensitive
  • Private

Air Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius. Air signs represent the “mind” and are known to be:

  • Creative
  • Adventurous
  • Exciting
  • Powerful
Olivia Klein


If you want insight on just how precise astrology can be, you might want to consider creating a birth chart. Your birth chart will give you a more in-depth understanding of how you behave, feel, and present yourself. A birth chart can come in many forms, but they all represent the position that the planets were in on their orbit around the sun at the exact time that you were born. In order to make yours, you need to know the place in which you were born, the date, and the time.


  • Sun sign (rules the zodiac sign Leo): The sun is said to rule your general personality. It dictates your everyday behavior.
  • Moon sign (rules the zodiac sign Cancer): The moon is said to rule your emotions and moods. It dictates your behavior when you are most vulnerable and alone.
  • Ascendent/Rising sign: your ascendent/rising is said to rule your “vibe”. It dictates how you appear to everybody on the outside.

The signs in sun, moon, and ascendent are called your “big three”

  • Venus sign (rules the zodiac signs Taurus and Libra): your Venus sign is said to dictate aspects of your love life, aesthetic, and beauty.
  • Mars sign (rules the zodiac signs Aries and Scorpio): your Mars sign dictates how you defend yourself and control anger.
  • Mercury sign (rules the zodiac signs Gemini and Virgo): your Mercury sign is said to dictate how you learn and process things.

Sophomore Jessica Jung has noticed the trend: “As a result of TikTok and other social media platforms, I have noticed the rise of interest in astrology and zodiac signs at OT.” She continues by saying, “As videos go viral on TikTok, more and more people start to become exposed and their interest in astrology increases.”

Overall, astrology can be used in many different aspects of life: it can play into socialization and help give you a sense of self. Junior Remy Barker said, “I think it’s really cool that through astrology I am able to connect more with my friends and with myself. It definitely helps me to stay grounded in tough times, and has especially helped me cope with the pandemic.”